Sika Manu ($214,100 2RF) had a rod inserted in his leg last July when he broke both his tibia and fibula in his left leg when playing against St George and thought he was on track for Round 1 when he started running in early January. But the 22-year-old was forced to put those plans on hold when he developed sharp pain in his knee. “When I walk I get a sharp pain in my knee from the time I wake up until I go to bed,” Manu said. The powerful backrower was in great form before the injury, with damaging hit ups and an average tackle rate that was only betterd by workhorse Dallas Johnson in the Storm outfit last season. Storm physiotherapist Kieren Morgan was confident Manu would make a full recovery and be back playing midway through the season. Melbourne will start the season next Saturday night against Cronulla without premiership props Brett White ($180,500 FRF) and Ryan Tandy ($152,900 FRF), who both underwent off-season shoulder surgery.